Blog of Charles Bryan Alred
Oklahoma Texting and Driving Law
Posted on January 10, 2016
Texting and driving. We all know that it shouldn’t be done, but few drivers actually follow that logic. Instead, many drivers make the mistake in thinking they are “capable” or perhaps “unaffected” by looking at their phone. Statistics show us this isn’t true. According to textinganddrivingsafety.com, 25% of ALL auto accidents were caused by texting and driving. To help the state of Oklahoma enforce better safety for drivers and prevent fatal accidents, Governor Mary Fallin signed “House Bill 1965” in May of 2015, that would fine drivers for texting and driving. As of Nov. 1st of 2015, this law became live and enforceable by local police officers.
What does this No-texting Legislation Include?
If you are operating a motor vehicle in the state of Oklahoma while also using a phone or a hand-held electronic communication device to write, send, or read a text message while in motion, you are breaking the law and could be fined. A text message can be considered anything containing words, emoticons, pictures, video, and anything that is sent digitally. Also, remember that even glancing at your phone to simply “check” your messages will be fineable.
What are the fines for texting and driving?
The fine is not more than $100. However, if the texting or communication through a mobile device leads to an accident, the penalty could be much more, including jail time.
What if my vehicle is not in motion?
The new law only covers situations where you are in motion, but driving while distracted is still a possibility for being fined, and it also creates a dangerous situation. Even checking your phone at a stop sign or stoplight could cause enough of a distraction to cause harm.
Tulsa and Broken Arrow Personal Injury and Auto Accident Lawyer
Accidents are costly, both in expenses and personal injury. If you or a loved one have been in an accident or killed due to an auto accident from a negligent driver who was texting, Charles Bryan Alred can assess your case and go for the maximum amount of recovery possible. Your calls are answered 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Our experienced personal injury and Auto accident lawyer can tell you the true value of your case and help get justice for you and your family. Contact attorney Charles Bryan Alred online, for a free evaluation of your case or call 918-745-9960.